Saint Petersburg, 199178, Russia, Line 14th (Vasilyevsky Island), 29
(812) 363-68-71, (812) 363-68-72
ru en

Mathematical Foundations of Quantum Mechanics

2020 – 2021, VIII, X semester

Course information

This course is a short introduction in the quantum mechanics designed specially for students of mathematical department. The course presumes from students to have no special prior knowledge of physics and simultaneously to have some advanced mathematical background including functional analysis, basic PDEs and theory of self-adjoint operators in Hilbert spaces. The particular attention in the course is devoted to the mathematical-friendly description of effects observed in physical experiments and their explanation in the mathematical language.

Another goal of this course is to provide some insight into relations of quantum mechanics with various branches of modern mathematics emphasizing the influence of quantum mechanics on the development of mathematics.

The rough plan of the course is following: main chapters of quantum physics and the place of quantum mechanics between them, experimental origins of quantum theory, observables and states, Heisenberg’s uncertainty relations, quantization, coordinate and momentum representations, Weyl relations and Stone-von Neumann theorem, quantum dynamics, Scr\” odinger equation, hydrogen atom,
spin, Pauli equation, system of identical particles, the symmetrization postulate and Pauli exclusion principle, Mendeleev periodic table from the point of view of quantum mechanics.

Prerequirements: in short mathematical introduction we recall briefly all necessary facts from the spectral theory of self-adjoint operator in Hilbert spaces. Nevertheless, students are strictly recommended to take prior this course some course/courses on the operator theory. For example, courses “Theory of Self-Adjoint Operators in Hilbert Space” and “Spectral Theory of Differential Operators, Parts I悠I” of
the BSc/MSc programs in Mathematics at SPbSU or equivalent are essential.


Course program


Lecturers

Associate Professor

Saint Petersburg, 199178, Russia, Line 14th (Vasilyevsky Island), 29
(812) 363-68-71, (812) 363-68-72
ru en

Mathematical Foundations of Quantum Mechanics

2020 – 2021, VIII, X семестр

Информация по курсу

Курс представляет собой краткое введение в квантовую механику, ориентированное в первую очередь на студентов—математиков. Это значит, что данный курс не предполагает наличия у студентов специальных знаний из области физики, но предполагает, что студенты уже знакомы с такими разделами математики, как функциональный анализ, уравнения в частных производных и элементы теории самосопряженных операторов в гильбертовом пространстве. Отдельное внимание в курсе будет уделено описанию основных экспериментальных фактов на понятном для математиков языке, а также их математическому обоснованию и объяснению «на языке формул».

Другая задача курса — продемонстрировать слушателем связь квантовой механики с различными разделами математики, подчеркивая при этом то влияние, которое проблемы, естественным образом возникающие в квантовой механике, оказали на развитие математики.

Приблизительный план курса следующий: основные разделы квантовой физики и место квантовой механики среди них, экспериментальные предпосылки квантовой теории, наблюдаемые и состояния, соотношения неопределенности Гейзенберга, принцип соответствия и правила квантования, координатные и импульсные представления пространства состояний, соотношения
Вейля и теорема Стоуна—фон Неймана, динамика квантовых частиц, уравнение Шредингера, атом водорода, спин электрона, уравнение Паули, многоэлектронные атомы, принцип запрета Паули, таблица Менделеева с точки зрения квантовой механики.

Предварительные требования: в кратком математическом введении мы перечислим основные сведения из спектральной теории самомопряженных операторов в гильбертовом пространстве, необходимые для понимания курса. Тем не менее, слушателям настоятельно рекомендуется предварительно прослушать один или несколько спецкурсов по теории операторов. В частности,
курсы «Теория самосопряженных операторов в гильбертовом пространстве» и «Спектральная теория дифференциальных операторов, части I-II» содержат все необходимые предварительные сведения.


Программа курса